We are here for you

North Carolina Lawyer

College-Age Charges

College-aged students facing criminal or misdemeanor charges in North Carolina are urged to seek legal guidance for their case immediately. Common criminal charges for college students may include charges ranging from underage drinking charges to charges for possession of drugs or drug paraphernalia. Below, a few of the typical charges that college students may face are discussed.


Underage Drinking

Underage drinking in North Carolina is a strictly enforced offense. However, the law and range of punishments varies depending on an individual’s age. Minors below the age of 19 who are convicted or plead guilty to consuming, possessing, or purchasing alcohol in North Carolina are typically punished more severely than minors who are 19 or 20 years old. Regardless of age, minors who possess, purchase, or are caught consuming alcohol can face Misdemeanor criminal charges and can be required to pay fines, do community service, and in some circumstances even serve jail time.


Underage DWI

North Carolina’s “Zero-Tolerance Law” prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from driving with any Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) above 0.0 or under the influence of any Scheduled I controlled substance. Laws surrounding underage drinking and driving are strictly enforced. Minors who drive after consuming alcohol stand to lose their license for a minimum of 30 days and can face extensive fines, court costs, and jail time. Refusal to take a breathalyzer test can result in a lengthy revocation of their driver’s license.


Drug Charges & Drug Paraphernalia

Drug charges in North Carolina differ depending on the drugs found in one’s possession. Common charges include possession of marijuana, cocaine, prescription drugs without a prescription, and possession of drug paraphernalia. There are six schedules of drugs and possession of each has unique consequences. To view a complete list of drug charge types, click here. The possession, use, and sale of drug paraphernalia is a Misdemeanor crime punishable by community service, fines and court costs, and in some situations jail time.


Defense Lawyer for College Students

College students or college-aged individuals in need of a criminal defense lawyer for any of the above crimes or related crimes should call Chad Brown, Attorney at Law. Chad’s years of experience in the legal profession has given him the necessary skillset to handle your criminal case. As a former prosecutor and college student himself, he understands both the issues college aged students face when charged with crimes and how those charges can affect their future. College students and college-aged individuals have their entire lives ahead of them, with the potential for bright futures. Drug and alcohol charges can prevent this potential from being met, interfere with job searches, affect college enrollment, and hinder chances for advancement. Contact Chad Brown today to see how he can help you achieve your goals and mitigate the damage from your legal issues.

Contact Us

Request a free consultation using our toll-free number:


150 Charlois Blvd

Ste 390,

Winston-Salem, NC 27103

(336) 546-5066

303 N. Center Street


NC 28687

(704) 992-3002

104 Broad St

Wilkesboro, NC 28697

(336) 818-9828