EXPERIENCED & TRUSTED

We are here for you

North Carolina Lawyer

First DWI

North Carolina law imposes punishments for DWI conviction on a case-by-case basis using a general framework for sentencing. Repeat offenders face harsher punishments that can range from license suspension to fines to jail time or a combination of two or all. However, do not be misled, a person may face mandatory jail time for even their first DWI conviction and North Carolina judges routinely give people jail time, even if for only a short period of time, for their first DWI conviction. When you are charged for the first time with DWI, it is important to understand the range of punishments you may face and what will happen in your case from the time you first go to court until your case is resolved.

 

Beginning Process

Even before your case is brought to court in North Carolina, when you are charged with your first DWI your license will be taken away and your privilege to drive will be suspended. The minimum license suspension is 30 days, but depending on the facts of your case, you may be eligible to receive a limited driving privilege. It is important to contact Chad Brown Law even during this stage because he can help you determine if you are eligible to receive limited driving privileges and help you understand what is happening during these beginning stages. There are also civil penalties associated with certain DWI charges requiring you to act quickly to protect your rights. Once these civil penalty appeal deadlines have passed your rights will be permanently waived. Beyond the initial license revocation, at the initial phases of the case it is important to evaluate your case to see if your Constitutional rights may have been violated or to see if Grossly Aggravating Factors are present that could require active jail time if you are convicted or plead guilty to a first offense DWI.

 

First DWI Conviction

If you are convicted of your first DWI in North Carolina, you can potentially receive worse punishments than just losing your license for 30 days. A few examples include, mandatory license revocation for a year, paying a fine up to $10,000, 24 hours to 36 months in jail, community service or probation. Your punishment can be a combination of any or one of these punishments depending on your case. If you are allowed to start driving again, there may be new rules that apply to your driving privileges that you must take into consideration as well.

Chad Brown Law Firm is here to help you handle your DWI charge from the start and wants to make sure you understand the process and your options before making any decisions. Between the many different potential punishments and the need by most people to obtain a limited driving privilege, a DWI charge is a complicated matter. Chad Brown Law is here to help you understand everything related to your DWI charge and make sure the legal process goes as smoothly as possible. When you get your first DWI, do not panic, Chad Brown Law is here to walk you through the complex system designed to convict and punish you and will be with you until your case has been resolved.

Contact Us

Request a free consultation using our toll-free number:

800-556-9115

150 Charlois Blvd

Ste 390,

Winston-Salem, NC 27103

(336) 546-5066

303 N. Center Street

Statesville,

NC 28687

(704) 992-3002

104 Broad St

Wilkesboro, NC 28697

(336) 818-9828