EXPERIENCED & TRUSTED

We are here for you

North Carolina Lawyer

Underage Zero Tolerance DWI

Individuals under the age of 21 cannot drive with any alcohol in their systems because in the state of North Carolina it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol. The state of North Carolina takes a zero-tolerance stance against underage drivers who have consumed alcohol or used drugs illegally and operated a motor vehicle.

 

Zero Tolerance North Carolina

In the state of North Carolina, the law specifically states that if you are under the age of 21 it is illegal for you to engage in any of the following:

  • Driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, even if you consumed alcohol prior to operating the vehicle and hours have gone by. A Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of .01 or higher at any relevant time after driving is illegal if you are under 21 years old.
  • Consume alcohol and drive simultaneously

 

What Happens To Zero Tolerance Offenders?

If a person is convicted of underage impaired driving, they will face a number of potential punishments. Typically, they will have their license revoked for one year. If you were over the age of 18 at the time of the offense with no prior convictions for either DWI or driving after consuming being under 21 years old, you can request a limited driving privilege. In addition to a license revocation, punishments can include fines, community service, a substance abuse assessment and required compliance with any recommendations, and probation. It is important to note that a person may be convicted of both Underage DWI and regular DWI. However, the aggregate punishment may not exceed the punishment for a regular DWI conviction.

 

Underage DWI Convictions and PJCs

The Underage DWI law can be seen by some as unusually harsh. Some judges will grant a Prayer For Judgment Continued, or PJC as it is commonly called, for underage DWI if certain requirement are met. These requirements usually consist of a substance abuse assessment and compliance with any recommendations and community service. While a PJC requires an admission of guilt, because no judgment is ever entered the North Carolina DMV will not revoke your privilege to drive.

 

How Can An Attorney Help?

Just as every person is unique, the details of every DWI arrest are also. Searching the internet to learn more about fighting a Zero Tolerance DWI case is not uncommon. You will certainly come across valuable information and some quick-fix type solutions for your case. It is important that you are aware that this information is generic for all DUI and DWI charges and is likely not specific to your unique situation. Only after assessing the specific facts of your Zero Tolerance DWI charges can an attorney give you accurate advice to deal with your charges. An attorney who has experience in fighting Zero Tolerance DWI cases will be able to gather the necessary facts in order to present the strongest case for your defense.

If you or someone you know is facing charges for a Zero Tolerance DWI incident in the State of North Carolina, contact Chad Brown Law – we can help.

Contact Us

Request a free consultation using our toll-free number:

800-556-9115

150 Charlois Blvd

Ste 390,

Winston-Salem, NC 27103

(336) 546-5066

303 N. Center Street

Statesville,

NC 28687

(704) 992-3002

104 Broad St

Wilkesboro, NC 28697

(336) 818-9828